My overall reaction to the novel

December 4, 2009 at 2:06 am (1)

For the most part, I enjoyed reading this novel because the author included imagery and symbols which made the novel easy to understand. The author did a great job with foreshadowing, because I was immediately able to figure out that Pecola was going to get pregnant. On the other hand, I was kept in suspense as to who would get Pecola pregnant. During some points of the novel, I was really bored. I was especially bored when the author included details of the area where Claudia, Freida and Pecola lived. There were some characters mentioned in the novel who did not even have a major role. This made me a little confused as to who is the main character and what their signifincance is. As, I read further the novel became more interesting.

Leave a Reply

